Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

00:10



The title says it all, Eleanor Oliphant really is completely fine. She has a secure job in a place she is comfortable, she has a home she has lived alone in for years, she knows exactly what she is going to eat and when, she is absolutely fine. She may down a couple of bottles of vodka every weekend but that's fine too.

One day her carefully created routine is upset by one of her colleagues, Raymond from IT, who asks for her help when an old man collapses in the street. Against her wishes, she accompanies the men to the hospital and this small act starts a chain reaction that forces her to realise that she could be more than completely fine.

There are a number of fiction titles on the market at the moment that deal with loneliness and mental illness but I can safely say that Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine is up there with the best of them. Eleanor's reasons for her isolation are slowly unravelled throughout this book and are so logical and understandable it is impossible not to feel for her. I did become briefly nervous that this novel would love 'fixing' all but I dreadfully underestimated Gail Honeyman. The relationships she creates are not what you may predict and are wonderful because of it.

Charming, funny and easily devoured this book is perfect for fans of The Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce. With this as a debut, Gail Honeyman is definitely an author I'll eagerly anticipate more from.



Buy your copy of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman from Amazon here.











You Might Also Like

0 comments